My current computer setup is a semi-temporary and simple setup with limited physical space. I currently have a small (and cheap) desk from IKEA. And that’s pretty much it.

Me and my partner are currently living in a apartment with limited space for a proper desk. We’re currently looking for a house with a proper office space (with amongst other things).

Atlas

This is my (currently 10 year old) workstation computer that I’m running Gentoo Linux on. It’s named after my best friend Atlas

Computer hardware

Processor: Intel Core i5-2500K (3.30 GHz)
Motherboard: ASUS P8P67 PRO B3
Memory: Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz 16 GB
Graphics Card: Gigabyte GeForce GTX 780 3 GB OC Windforce
Sound card: ASUS Xonar DX
Storage: Samsung 850 PRO, 128 GB SSD
  Seagate Ironwolf, 4TB HDD
Power supply: Corsair RM750
Case: Fractal Design Define R2

Peripherals

Monitor: Samsung S24C750P (24”, 1080p, 60 Hz)
Keyboard: Custom built 60% keyboard
Mouse: Logitech G305
Headset: Sony WH-XB700

Billy

This is my secondary computer that runs Alpine Linux with WeeChat and bitlbee (for XMPP) in a terminal multiplexer. It’s named after one of my other best friends, which happen to be the younger brother of Atlas.

I use an external SSD for $HOME to keep the read and writes to the SD-card at a minimum. Alpine Linux runs from the memory (by default on their ARM builds), so the SD-card doesn’t see any noticeable wear and tear.

Specifications:

Computer: Raspberry Pi 2 Model B
Processor: ARM Cortex-A7 (900 MHz)
Memory: 1 GB
Storage: Kingston MicroSD Class 10 32GB
  Intel 320, 120 GB SSD using an external USB 3.0 cabinet

This page was last updated: 2021-08-13.